One-Punch Man on TV

One-Punch Man is coming back to television!  The information for the new season was recently posted (via animate Times) including the show’s staff and list of cast members.  A key visual and teaser trailer for next year’s show was also posted.  The new season hits April 2019.

What is One Punch Man?

The One-Punch Man anime is the adaptation of a manga, written by One and illustrated by Yusuke Murata.  The manga itself is an adaptation of a web comic written and drawn by One, started in 2009.  It tells the story of an ordinary guy, Saitama, who becomes a “superhero for fun.” After intense training, he gains the power to destroy any opponent in one punch.

Saitama’s superhero costume is a direct parody of Anpanman (ON-PON-MAN), a long-running Japanese children’s character.  The show also parodies both American superheroes and Japanese live-action hero shows.

One-Punch Man creates its tension through a large cast of secondary characters.  Superhero’s inspired by honor, money, or fame.  Each hero risks their life defending the 26 cities of an alternate Earth.  One-Punch Man is so low key, most heroes do not know he exists.  Or that he deserves the credit for defeating the world’s greatest threats.

One-Punch Man Season 2

The end of season one saw Saitama stop an invasion by a galaxy conquering alien fleet.  Afterward, the rate of villains and monsters skyrocketed.  As a member of the Hero Association, Saitaima and his sidekick Genos, a super-charged cyborg, protect the city while completing mundane like shopping, cooking, and playing video games.

STAFF One-Punch Man Season 2

Original work: One-Punch Man, written by ONE, illustrated by Yusuke Murata, and serialized in Shueisha’s Tonarino Young Jump digital manga magazine

Director: Chikara Sakurai

Script: Tomohiro Suzuki

Character Design: Chikashi Kubota

Sound Director: Yoshikazu Iwanami

Music: Makoto Miyazaki

Opening Theme: JAM Project

Animation Production: J.C.STAFF

CAST One-Punch Man Season 2

Saitama: Makoto Furukawa

Genos: Kaito Ishikawa

Speed-o’-Sound Sonic: Yuki Kaji

Terrible Tornado: Aoi Yuki

Silverfang: Kazuhiro Yamaji

Atomic Samurai: Kenjiro Tsuda

Child Emperor: Minami Takayama

Metal Knight: Tessyo Genda

King: Hiroki Yasumoto

Zombieman: Takahiro Sakurai

Drive Knight: Yoji Ueda

Pig God: Daisuke Namikawa

Superalloy Blackluster: Satoshi Hino

Watchdog Man: Yuji Ueda

Flashy Flash: Kohsuke Toriumi

Tank-top Master: Katsuyuki Konishi

Metal Bat: Wataru Hatano

Puri-Puri Prisoner: Masaya Onosaka

Handsome Kamen Amai Mask: Mamoru Miyano

Hellish Blizzard: Saori Hayami

Mumen Rider: Yuichi Nakamura