Star Wars: The Canon Book Timeline


Now that the Skywalker Saga is over I get asked by my friends if there books that fill in the gaps the movies have left for us. Of course the answer is yes, but then the fun part is telling them where to start. So instead of telling them to write it down or look it up, I have decided that I would write this article listing them for my friends and everyone else to see and use. And yes I know that the Expanded Universe has a lot of books as well but today I am just talking the new Disney Canon timeline.

Star Wars The High Republic

The Canon Star Wars Book Timeline

To make this list a little easier to follow, I will list the books as they take place throughout the canon movie timeline (all movies will be in bold). I will also list release dates and future dates as well. So, here you go the Star Wars canon book timeline:

All books up to Star Wars: Episode 3 – Revenge of the Sith

  • The High Republic: Light of the Jedi (August 2020)
  • The High Republic: A Test of Courage (September 2020)
  • The High Republic: Into The Dark (October 2020)
  • Dooku: Jedi Lost (April 2019)
  • Master & Apprentice (April 2019)
  • Thrawn Ascendancy: Chaos Rising (October 2020)
  • Queen’s Peril (June 2020)
  • Movie – The Phantom Menace
  • Queen’s Shadow (March 2019)
  • Movie – Attack of the Clones
  • Movie – The Clone Wars
  • TV Series – The Clone Wars
  • Catalyst (November 2016)
  • Dark Disciple
  • Movie- Revenge of the Sith
Star Wars Master & Apprentice

All books up to the movie Rogue One

  • Ahsoka (October 2016)
  • Lords of the Sith (April 2015)
  • Tarkin (November 2014)
  • Most Wanted (May 2018)
  • Movie – SOLO: A Star Wars Story
  • SOLO – Novelization (September 2018)
  • Rebel Rising (May 2017)
  • Thrawn (April 2017)
  • A New Dawn (September 2014)
  • Lost Stars (September 2015)
  • Battlefront: Twilight Company (November 2015
  • TV Series – Star Wars Rebels
  • LEIA: Princess of Alderann (September 2017)
  • Thrawn: Alliances (June 2018)
  • Thrawn: Treason (July 2019)
  • Guardians of the Whills (May 2017)
  • Rogue One – Novelization (December 2016
  • Movie – Rogue One

Make sure to head over to page 2 for the rest of the canon book timeline.

Leave a Reply